Herding Cats

Herding Cats pretty much describes my life in the past year.  Since October 2011, we have had a wedding for my youngest son, and then a few weeks later we lost my dad, which was not un-expected as he’d been dealing with a lot of health issues.  In January my oldest announced his engagement and my youngest, the newlywed announced that we were going to be grandparents in September. In May our oldest broke up with his finance for all the right reasons and met somebody else.  In September my oldest announced he was getting married the end of October of 2012 and the same week, Hayes was born.  During this time I also wrote two books while promoting the release of three.

Deep breath.  Did I mention that these two books are totally different genres and published by two different houses under two different names?

If you are a writer, writing keeps you sane.  But it is also very difficult to write when your life is spinning out of control.  Writing is such a mental state, especially for women.  We are geared to take care of ourselves last, so we make sure everyone and everything else is perfect before we concentrate on ourselves and our writing. Is the house clean? The laundry done?  Then you get to the point where your realize the book has to be done and everything else has to wait whether it wants to or not.  But when your father dies or your grandchild is born the writing has to stop.

The last weekend I spent with my dad was a long one in the hospital.  I had a book due in two weeks and I had to just take a deep breath and say it doesn’t matter.  I didn’t know at the time that he would be dead within ten days.  I just knew he was in the hospital.  So I left everything behind and just went and sat with him.  He slept most of the time, but that was okay.  Every time he woke up I was there.  We watched baseball, his favorite sport, and luckily his favorite team, the St. Louis Cardinals was making a run for the series. I look back and have no regrets about that time I spent with him.  The book still got done, and even though I turned it in four months late, it still got published for its release date.

The same with Hayes, my grandson.  I rushed a book because I was trying to beat his arrival.  I turned it in on Wednesday and he was born on Sunday.  Holding him was more important that writing.  And I knew the book could be bettered during revisions.  And it was.  (just turned those in early even with a wedding)

We are all herding cats and burning soup.  Our lives are busy.  But take time for the important things.  My dad was proud of me and hopefully Hayes will say, hey my Mimi writes books.  But she always has time for me.

We’ll see how that works out as I keep him part time while his mom works.  Baby sitting and writing.  There are some moms who do it.  I admire them greatly.  Now if I can just find time to knit!

Cisco

Cisco

You can find more info about my diverse personalities at www.cindyholby.com or www.kassytayler.com.  As Cindy Holby I write historical westerns and my latest is Colorado Heart.  As Kassy Tayler I write YA dystopian and Ashes Of Twilight is a best of November feature on Apple iBooks and Huffington Post declared it as a likely successor to Hunger Games.  You can follow my crazy life on twitter at www.twitter.com/cholby or more about my YA series at www.twitter.com/kassytayler.

I also work with animal rescue and have a blog about it. www.wordpress.com/authorsforanimals

About cindyholby

I am a multipublished author who volunteers with the local humane society. I write under the names Cindy Holby, Colby Hodge and Kassy Tayler
This entry was posted in angel's end, Ashes Of Twlight, cindy holby, Colorado Heart, kassy tayler, Shadows Of Glass, writer's life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

